Fire by Kristin Cashore: Some thoughts so far

It's not just her name that's hot! Click to view Fire on GoodReads.

It’s not just her name that’s hot!
Click to view Fire on GoodReads.

I had planned on finishing and reviewing Fire last night but alas, it was relatively sunny outside so I ended up in the beer garden having a debate about drawing a cock on Mars and putting cancer in prison (don’t ask), such is life.

It’s taken me nigh on 200 pages to really get into this but that’s not really a reflection on the book (It’s good!). I think I was just so in love with the first book in the series, Graceling that I was in mourning over it. I mean, I’d just come to terms with fancying a character called Po and allowed myself to swoon over him and then it ended. But it’s all OK, I thought, I can get the second book off my partner in YA crime, Di, and all will be OK….BUT THERE’S NO PO IN IT? WHAAAT?

But do not fret. There may be no Po, (still a really, really stupid name!) but there is Prince Brigan. Oh hello. He’s not described as being particularly hot, but he has a scar on his upper-lip (why is that so fhfgygvklso?). He’s pretty aloof to start with but that just adds to the charm. He’s serious, he’s going to war for god’s sake. All of these things clearly = swoon. But why the hell haven’t they got it on yet? Jesus.

I have about 150 pages to go and if it doesn’t happen soon, there will be hell to pay Dianne Tanner!

Also, Archer needs to get out of my face.

Fire is published by Gollancz.

2 thoughts on “Fire by Kristin Cashore: Some thoughts so far

  1. I need to reread this one some time, I read it so fast and so long ago now I can’t remember anything! Bitterblue is on my soon to be read shelf though, am looking forward 🙂

  2. Yeah I read Fire quite a long time after Graceling and couldn’t really remember much other than I loved it (and Po, and Katsa being awesome). It didn’t really matter with Fire but from what I’ve read of Bitterblue so far I wish I could remember it more! I borrowed the other 2 off a friend so I’ll prob buy them and reread them all consecutively at some point. I definitely want them for keeps!

Leave a Reply

