Favourites Friday #2: Alice in Wonderland and why I have so many copies!

Books 011

Is it excessive to have four different versions of a book? Usually I’d say yes, but not where Alice in Wonderland concerned. As I’m sure is the same for a lot of people – Alice has been one of favourites practically from birth. I don’t actually remember my parents reading it to me but I’m sure they did. Along with The Chronicles of Narnia, Alice is a book I always come back to and I can’t ever remember a time of not having a copy close by.

Books 001
This is my bog-standard copy that I’ve had since Uni. I love it because it is battered and tatty and full of almost illegible notes from various essays I had to write.
Books 003

This was just a cheap copy I picked up in my teens which introduced me to some of Carroll’s other works including his plays and essays. I’m not sure if I’ve ever read it front to back…I really should.

Books 004

Then there’s my favourite.
It’s not particularly old, 1980, but you don’t see many Through the Looking Glass stand-alones these days. I found this in a charity shop and had to buy it. The eight full-page illustration plates by Tenniel are beautiful in colour.

Books 005
Books 006

Which also has the addition of The Wasp in a Wig which I’d not seen before. Books 009

And this is a 2009 Penguin Classic special edition with canvas boards and various extra notes on the text that my friend Dora gave to me. So pretty!Books 010

I love them all for all different reasons so I can’t bring myself to get rid of any of them. Oh, and I’m pretty sure if I went rummaging in my parents attic I’d be able to find the copy I grew up with. I’d love to see that again. I bet it smells amazing! I’m actually going home next weekend, I’ll try and find it if I get the time.

7 thoughts on “Favourites Friday #2: Alice in Wonderland and why I have so many copies!

  1. I love Alice in Wonderland! The 1980 Through the Looking Glass stand-alone and the flamingo-covered version are so great! There’s also a version I’d love to get that has little multi-colored teapots all over it! ๐Ÿ™‚ Fun post!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  2. All of these editions are great โ€“ I have four copies of The Great Gatsby and can justify everyone!

  3. Pingback: Friday Feature: Alice, Alice, Who the **** is Alice? | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

