Favourites Friday #5: Silly Verse For Kids

Click to view on Goodreads

Click to view on Goodreads


Just a quick one today guys as it’s Semi-finals day @ Wimbledon and I am glued to it!!! (Mon the Murray).

Spike Milligan is a hero of mine and this book is the best collection of his ‘nonsense’ poems for young kids. When I look back on my early childhood, this book is what I remember. I remember my mum and dad reading it to me and being in hysterics. I still remember all of the words to my favourites ‘On the Ning Nang Nong’ and ‘The Land of the Bumbley Boo’.

Every child who is read to is lucky, but I doubt that every child is as lucky to be read things as fun as this. It is something I will never forget!

In The Land Of The Bumbley Boo

In the land of the Bumbley Boo
The People are red white and blue,
They never blow noses
Or ever wear closes,
What a sensible thing to do!

In the land of the Bumbley Boo
You can buy Lemon pie at the zoo;
They give away foxes
In little Pink Boxes
And Bottles of Dandylion Stew.

In the land of the Bumbley Boo
You never see a Gnu,
But thousands of cats
Wearing trousers and hats
Made of Pumpkins and Pelican Glue!

Chorus
Oh, the Bumbley Boo! the Bumbley Boo!
That’s the place for me and you!
So hurry! Let’s run!
The train leaves at one!
For the land of the Bumbley Boo!
The wonderful Bumbley Boo-Boo-Boo!
The Wonderful Bumbley BOO!!!

© Spike Milligan. All rights reserved

Buy this for your kids!

Have a great weekend everyone!!!

3 thoughts on “Favourites Friday #5: Silly Verse For Kids

  1. Pingback: July 2013 on Lipsyy Lost & Found | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Was *Forced* to Read | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  3. Pingback: On the Ning Nang Nong By Spike Milligan | Renard Moreau Presents

Leave a Reply

