Spin-off or Spin on? The Maleficent Seven (Skulduggery Pleasant spin-off) by Derek Landy

View on Goodreads

View on Goodreads

A brilliant, hilarious one-off novella in the Skulduggery Pleasant universe, from number-one-bestselling author Derek Landy

This time, the bad guys take the stage.

Tanith Low, now possessed by a remnant, recruits a gang of villains – many of whom will be familiar from previous Skulduggery adventures – in order to track down and steal the four God-Killer level weapons that could hurt Darquesse when she eventually emerges. Also on the trail of the weapons is a secret group of Sanctuary sorcerers, and doing his best to keep up and keep Tanith alive is one Mister Ghastly Bespoke.

When the villains around her are lying and scheming and plotting, Tanith needs to stay two steps ahead of her teammates and her enemies. After all, she’s got her own double-crosses to plan – and she’s a villain herself…

Firstly, The Skulduggery Pleasant books are one of my favourite series ever. One because they are hilarious and captivating and two, because I have them all in hardback and they look pretty on my shelves. Secondly, it’s been a while since I read this spin-off (I know, I’m rubbish) and Goodreads tells me I gave it 4/5 but now I cannot for the life of me remember why.

I was really excited to see that Tanith Low was getting her own book, she’s an interesting character, especially now that she’s evil and has this strangely cute relationship with evil Billy-Ray. I must have enjoyed the story to give it 4/5 but thinking back on it now I can’t even tell you what happened, which can’t be a good thing can it?

I know that my favourite character in it died. Sob. And that Tanith was leading an army of misfits to steal the God Killer Weapons so that they can’t be used against Darquesse, if of course, Valkyrie ever turns into her. So as ever Tanith is kind of evil but not really which was just a bit annoying really. I’m finding it hard to remember what the point of the story was…sorry…

Also, I thought this would be a good opportunity for Landy to prove that he can write in a different tone to Skulduggery and Valkyrie, (they are VERY sarcastic)but that didn’t really happen either. I love sarcasm as much as the next person – probably a lot more actually- and that’s one of the main things I loved about the early Skulduggery books. They made me L.O.L. But as the series went on the constant sarcasm seemed to seep into every single character: Overkill. It hasn’t stopped me enjoying them, but I did hope that this would be different.

I’m sure this must have been entertaining enough but with hindsight…I was probably being quite generous because I love the series so much. Basically, I can only really recommend this to lovers of the Skulduggery Pleasant series. He’s a sarcastic skeleton detective…what’s not to like!?

The Maleficent Seven is published by HarperCollins Children’s Books, March 2013.

3 thoughts on “Spin-off or Spin on? The Maleficent Seven (Skulduggery Pleasant spin-off) by Derek Landy

  1. Pingback: July 2013 on Lipsyy Lost & Found | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Authors! | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ve Changed My Mind About #TTT | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

