We need to talk about…The Selection

I’ve kind of been putting off posting about Kiera Cass’ The Selction & The Elite ever since I started this blog. I think it’s because I loved them more than should be acceptable for a 29 year old, and I am ashamed about it.

OK so ashamed is going a bit far. Embarrassed maybe? Nope that isn’t any better is it? Basically, they have well and truly propelled Twilight off of my guilty pleasure mountain of glory; they’ve stolen my Trashy Crown and Edward will just have to wait until I’m finished with Prince Maxon. TEAM MAXON. Ahem.

The worst part is that I can’t exactly decide why I loved them so much. The writing is adequate at best; the premise is hardly original being an amalgamation of The Hunger Games, TV show The Bachelor, and just about any YA novel about a prince and a pauper. BUT THEY ARE SO AWESOME I WANT TO READ IT AGAIN RIGHT NOW. (I may or may not have already read The Selection twice this year). I need help.

Therefore, I have enlisted my BFF Dianne to read The Selection so we can discuss it. And when I say enlist, I mean forced.

Me and Di have shared many books over the years and we’re both suckers for trashy teen novels. Most of the time we love (and hate) the same books. BUT, that’s where the similarities end. Everything I love in a book Di hates, and vice versa. Which makes for some great debates (screaming) and rants (whole nights lost).

The infamous Gale vs Peeta debate of 2011 is now banned from our lips, but not our thoughts. Obviously. PEETA IS A DOUCHE. Sorry. So I look forward to finding out what Di thinks of The Selection (She is definitely going to hate it). Watch this space.

If you have absolutely no idea what I’m blathering on about, here’s the lowdown on The Selection.

View on Goodreads

View on Goodreads

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

3 thoughts on “We need to talk about…The Selection

  1. I had friends over for dinner last night and I was slightly vexed that I had to stop reading it already to be like social and stuff. I’m super excited to have a tube journey today to spend with my face in this UTTERLY APPALLING BOOK THAT I CANNOT STOP READING.

  2. Pingback: Di & Lipsy do The Selection! | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

