Festive Recommendations Needed!

I am still in my book funk. I’m finding it really hard to concentrate on anything at all. I am still reading The Wolves of Midwinter and don’t want to give up on it but I’ve never read a book so slowly in my life!!!!

It is however getting me in the mood for Christmas (I know, I know, it’s too early) and I spent all of yesterday watching awful (but good!) made-for-TV Christmas films.

I need motivation to get through the ARCs I have lined up to review, so I figured I could enlist your help. Surely having some books that are the perfect Christmastime reads will spur me on to get through the next 4 books or so in time for the festive period, yes!?

So what are your favourite festive reads? Are you excited about any new Christmassey books this year?

Here is one that I’ve read the last two years in a row:

8482928
Christmas has always been a sad time for young widow Holly Brown, so when she’s asked to look after a remote house on the Lancashire moors, the opportunity to hide herself away is irresistible – the perfect excuse to forget about the festivities.

Sculptor, Jude Martland, is determined that this year there will be no Christmas after his brother runs off with his fiancée and he is keen to avoid the family home. However, he will have to return by Twelfth Night, when the hamlet of Little Mumming hold their historic festivities and all of his family are required to attend.

Meanwhile, Holly is finding that if she wants to avoid Christmas, she has come to the wrong place. When Jude unexpectedly returns on Christmas Eve he is far from delighted to discover that Holly seems to be holding the very family party he had hoped to avoid.

Suddenly, the blizzards come out of nowhere and the whole village is snowed in. With no escape, Holly and Jude get much more than they bargained for – it looks like the twelve days of Christmas are going to be very interesting indeed!

8 thoughts on “Festive Recommendations Needed!

  1. Hogfather by Terry Pratchett also came to mind as I was thinking of Christmas/festive-themed novels…so does Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding, probably because it starts and ends around the Christmas season (and the start of the movie was quite memorable with the family gathering) xD Otherwise, strangely enough, I don’t read very many Christmas-themed or set books. I should fix that this year 🙂

    • haha yes, join me in pursuing some festive reads! I never really got on with Bridget Jones, definitely need to get into Terry Pratchett though, thanks for the recommendations!!

Leave a Reply

