Orbital Kin by James E. Parsons

18206543After an unusual disease breaks out and begins to threaten the country, a group of postgraduate students at a British university focus their research upon it, aiming to find out the cause and the cure.
The experimentations move out to space stations soon enough, in hope of a cure being produced while more mysterious events take place. The two graduate students find success, breakthroughs and the sudden spreading illness takes them in directions they never expected.
Can university graduates Steven and Alan save the country from the spread of the disease? Only time will tell…

Orbital Kin was such a Rollercoaster of a read for me. One minute I loved it and the next I wanted it to end!

We start with Univeristy students Steven and Alan partying, finishing up their degrees and continuing their scientific research. When people suddenly begin falling ill with an unprecedented, deadly disease which results in violent attacks, Steven and Alan’s research is taken in a new direction.

There was good action from the start, but I found the first third of Orbital Kin a bit clunky and awkward, making it hard to get into. The dialogue started off pretty bad too (so many mate’s and man’s– whether it was supposed to be regional dialect I don’t know, but it didn’t work for me) but as I read on I realised that it was just a case of teething pains and after a couple of chapters it settled into a rhythm and really began to improve.

There were a lot of things in this story that intrigued and excited me, mainly centered around protagonist Steven. His strange visions of The Red Man, his father’s involvement in some pretty messed up scientific experiments who also uses his daughter Lucy as human guinea pig, and the secrets lurking between his whole family.

Lucy, Steven’s little sister, was really the only character I had any feelings about. The main disappointment for me was that I didn’t like any of the characters in this story so I found it hard to care about was happening until Lucy came along. She kind of reminded me of Abra in Stephen King’s Doctor Sleep, in that she has some strange abilities. The difference here though was that it’s clear these abilities have been the result of some kind of experiment by her father.

When things move on to the space station I got a bit lost again. I felt that there were too many unnecessary sequences and even whole chapters that didn’t need to be there. Too much walking between zones with not a lot happening.

But then, (I told you it was a rollercoaster!) people begin to get sick, they discover one of the team can breathe on Mars and paranoia grows, insanity and alien visions spread and it’s all pretty good again.

There is no doubt in my mind that Orbital Kin needs another thorough edit, but there are some great moments. It is Science Fiction in the true, original sense of the term and I’d recommend it to any fans of the genre.

Disclosure: I received a copy from the Publisher/ Author for an HONEST review. Many Thanks!
Details: Paperback, 387 pages. Published July 31st 2013 by Austin Macauley
My Rating: 3 out of 5 Unicorns
If you liked this try: The Passage by Justin Cronin

One thought on “Orbital Kin by James E. Parsons

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday! (20/11/2013) | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

