Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d recommend to reluctant readers.

toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish (Click the image to visit them). This week the topic is Books you would recommend to X.

I have gone for books that I would recommend to reluctant readers and split them into boys and girls and narrowed it down to the 8 – 14 age bracket. Not that I think these books are limited to those demographics.. of course!

Boys:

Why don’t more boys read? Especially teenagers….is it just not cool? There are some great books aimed at boys though, of all ages.

tttPicMonkey Collage

Girls:

When I was younger I was encouraged to read books like Little Women and Pride & Prejudice, and I’m not dissing them (I am a bit) but they’re not the most exciting are they. If I’d discovered books like these earlier, I think I would have been a prolific reader from an earlier age.

tttPicMonkey Collage1

Feel free leave a link to your TTT post and I’ll check them out!

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d recommend to reluctant readers.

  1. I agree. Thanks for sharing books reluctant readers might love!

    Here’s my Top Ten!And I hope you will also sign up for my Gratitude Giveaway, a trip across America (via a book, of course!) or a $25 Amazon gift card…it’s international!

  2. Skulduggery Pleasant and Artemis Fowl, great recommendations! Usually I hesitate to group things into ‘boys’ and ‘girls’ groups, but I can see why you did it here. I would have read the books from both of your groups as a kid, though! Then again, I was definitely not a reluctant reader!

  3. I wish more boys would read too! At least teen boys – I’ve not met one that I can talk about books with. I wish there would be more YA books that were easier to relate to for both boys and girls.

  4. Great topic! As the mother of a very reluctant reader (boy, age 11) I will definitely look into some of your choices. Who know, maybe a miracle will happen! On the other hand, my daughter was always a voracious reader, and the Traveling Pants series was such a hit with her. Awesome list!

  5. Pingback: Monthly Round-Up | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

