Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Books of 2014

toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish (Click the image to visit them). This week the topic is Top Ten Books I’m looking forward to in 2014.

This wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be. I haven’t really had a lot of time to look forward to new releases, and I also haven’t read that many books that are part of series this year so don’t have many sequels on my radar. Well there are a few…

These are in order for a change (most anticipated first), and it just so happens the first five (bar one)are part of the only series that I’ve been fangirling over this year. May as well get them out of the way first, eh!?

ttt1

ttt2

  • After the End by Amy Plum (May 6th): Again, I haven’t read any Amy Plum yet but love the look of her books. This one is no exception, the cover is stunning. Synopsis below.
  • Untitled (Warm Bodies #2) by Issac Marion (2014): Marion recently made this statement…

    I love that world. I love those people, and I want to show you what happens to them. So I’m writing another book about them. Another book-and-a-half, actually…but I’ll explain that later. For now, just trust that I have a story to tell and a reason to tell it, and I’ll try my best not to ruin everything.”

  • Half Bad by Sally Green (March 4th): I recently spotted this on the Waterstones website and thought it sounded awesome. It is Sally Green’s debut novel. Synopsis below.
  • Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare (Jan 28th): This looks like the very best kind of trash. AND the series is called Castles Ever After…SOLD!
  • Veronica Mars by Rob Thomas (Feb 4th): The first book in an original mystery series featuring twenty-eight-year-old Veronica Mars, back in action after the events of Veronica Mars: The Movie. I didn’t know this was in the pipeline either until now. I heart VM!

After The End – Amy Plum

She’s searching for answers to her past. They’re hunting her to save their future.

World War III has left the world ravaged by nuclear radiation. A lucky few escaped to the Alaskan wilderness. They’ve survived for the last thirty years by living off the land, being one with nature, and hiding from whoever else might still be out there.

At least, this is what Juneau has been told her entire life.

When Juneau returns from a hunting trip to discover that everyone in her clan has vanished, she sets off to find them. Leaving the boundaries of their land for the very first time, she learns something horrifying: There never was a war. Cities were never destroyed. The world is intact. Everything was a lie.

Now Juneau is adrift in a modern-day world she never knew existed. But while she’s trying to find a way to rescue her friends and family, someone else is looking for her. Someone who knows the extraordinary truth about the secrets of her past.

Half Bad by Sally Green

In modern-day England, witches live alongside humans: White witches, who are good; Black witches, who are evil; and fifteen-year-old Nathan, who is both. Nathan’s father is the world’s most powerful and cruel Black witch, and his mother is dead. He is hunted from all sides. Trapped in a cage, beaten and handcuffed, Nathan must escape before his sixteenth birthday, at which point he will receive three gifts from his father and come into his own as a witch—or else he will die. But how can Nathan find his father when his every action is tracked, when there is no one safe to trust—not even family, not even the girl he loves?

In the tradition of Patrick Ness and Markus Zusak, Half Bad is a gripping tale of alienation and the indomitable will to survive, a story that will grab hold of you and not let go until the very last page.

What made your list?

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Books of 2014

  1. THere’s A VERONICA MARS BOOK!?! I have to have that! Thanks for putting it on your list or I wouldn’t have know it existed! I’m also excited about The One and the After the End! Great list.

  2. A Veronica Mars book? LOL. Don’t know if I’d read the book, but I really can’t wait for the movie! I like the sound of After the End — must check it out!

  3. I didn’t know there was a Veronica Mars book in the works, either. LOVE Veronica Mars-own all three seasons and am one of the Kickstarter backers. Thnx for the heads up!

  4. Pingback: WWW Wednesday (04/11/2013) | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books to-be-read this Winter | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

