The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

THIS BOOK! I’m still processing, but wow. READ IT.

2118745Prentisstown isn’t like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in an overwhelming, never-ending stream of Noise. Just a month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd and his dog, Manchee — whose thoughts Todd can hear too, whether he wants to or not — stumble upon an area of complete silence. They find that in a town where privacy is impossible, something terrible has been hidden — a secret so awful that Todd and Manchee must run for their lives.

But how do you escape when your pursuers can hear your every thought?

This book has given me a hangover. I feel like a shell of my former self so please excuse this rant of a review.

Poor Todd. He’s the only boy left in Prentisstown and he’s counting down the days until he will officially become a man. He doesn’t know what becoming a man, by Prentisstown standards actually means, but he just hopes that he won’t be alone any more.

But everything Todd thought he knew has been a lie. Prentisstown is not what he thought it was and all of a sudden he’s running for his life, his dog Manchee his only companion.

I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to get round to reading this book. I remember the hype when it came out and did I that ‘oh I bet it’s not THAT good, I’ll get round to it eventually’ thing. I am an idiot.

The Knife of Never Letting Go is a ferocious read. I literally couldn’t stop. It’s written in a stream-of-consciousness style which some people might find challenging, but I love it. It’s also one of those books that never lets up. Things just go from bad to worse for Todd, Manchee and Viola, a girl he finds along the way. I was practically screaming Give the poor kids a break for the love of God, the whole way through.

I can understand exactly why this book has won so many awards. Everything about it is amazing; it’s exciting, provoking, funny, and heart-wrenching (not for the faint-hearted!). I’m not really a dog person, but I even fell in love with Manchee. Best Dog!

And I can’t order my thoughts any more than that right now. I neeeeeeeeed the next book immediately.

unicorn ratingDisclosure: None, I borrowed it off my friend Di. NEXT ONE PLEASE.
Title: The Knife of Never Letting Go
Author: Patrick Ness
Details: Paperback, 479 pages
Publication Date: Published October 22nd 2008 by Walker
My Rating: 5/5
Is it a Keeper? I need to buy this series right now.
If you liked this try: I don’t know. Just read this again.

13 thoughts on “The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

  1. The Knife of Never Letting Go is one of my favourite books so I’m glad you enjoyed it! Unfortunately I thought that the sequels (especially the last instalment) weren’t up to the same standard – I’d be interested to hear what you think of them.

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesday (11/12/13!!) | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  3. Pingback: How Our Thoughts Make Us: The Knife of Never Letting Go | allthingswordy

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Read This Year! | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  5. Pingback: The Ask and the Answer (Chaos Walking #2) by Patrick Ness (Mini-Review) | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  6. Pingback: Monsters of Men (Chaos Walking #3) by Patrick Ness: Spoiler-Free, Lazy Saturday Review! | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: YA Books for YABC | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  8. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Authors! | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  9. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top ten books which feature characters who…crack me up! | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

