Blog Talk: The average time-span of a Book Blogger?

Rosie_The_Blogger

I’ve been doing this blogging thing since May, so just under 7 months, and I still consider myself pretty new to it. I’m constantly coming across things that I feel I should be including on my blog, and spotting things that I can improve on, such as the quality and volume of reviews, keeping more up to date in the book world, and ways of making my blog look better. For me, it’s a work in progress (as is trying to read quicker!!). Some things work, and some don’t, but I’m just enjoying sharing my book-geek, fangirling ways with the blogosphere.

Because I still feel like a Newb at this, I always just assumed that most of the blogs I follow and love have been around for much longer than mine, and are more established, experienced sites. But more and more lately I’ve been seeing ‘6 months’ or ‘1 year’ anniversary posts or ‘I hit 100 followers’ posts and I’m always surprised that those blogs haven’t actually been going for very long. Which led me to wonder two things:

1. How long is the average time-span for a book blogger?

There’s no doubt about it, book blogging is a lot of work. A lot more work than I was expecting, so I guess it’s not surprising that people would start them up and realise that they just don’t have the time, or will to continue.

2. What is the key to longevity?

Like I said, I’ve been enjoying blogging a lot, and quite soon after I began it just became part of my life. But it is hard to keep motivated sometimes. With working full-time, blogging, and trying to have a social life, my own writing has well and truly taken a back-seat so I do sometimes think what is the point? I just hope the pros (free books, writing practice…) continue to outweigh the cons (too many hours in front of a computer, lack of sleep…).

So I ask you, lovely Bloggers: How long have you been blogging/ How long do you think the average time-span for a book blogger is? And what keeps you going?

And go!

12 thoughts on “Blog Talk: The average time-span of a Book Blogger?

  1. I’ve been blogging for a year at the end of this month. It is like a second job, but I thoroughly enjoy it. I have another blog that has been running for almost 4 years, but the community isn’t as accepting. That’s what I find with book blogging. The other bloggers are so welcoming and it’s lovely to fangirl and chat with likeminded people. I think if you’re serious about book blogging, then it can last for quite some time. I do see a lot of blogs that only seem to be around for a year or two. Life gets in the way sometimes! I hope to keep going though. I’m reading more than ever now which I like and exploring different genres that I never thought I would.

  2. I definitely think the ‘community’ is what makes it as enjoyable and keeps me coming back for more. I’d miss you guys if I gave it up!

    And see, I would never have guessed that when I started, you had only been at it for a few months…everyone is so young 🙂

  3. I’ve only been blogging since the middle of August and thought it would just be a place to put my reviews but I love the ‘community’ feel that book blogging creates. It has taken up far more time than I expected and I’m at the point where I’m trying to get more of a balance as I need to have time to read the books to review them!! Great post! 🙂

    • Thanks! I feel exactly the same, I want to read more, and faster so I have more reviews to post, but maintaining the blog in the first place takes time away from reading…I do love it though. And I definitely thought your blog had been going for longer than mine!

  4. Pingback: WWW Wednesday (11/12/13!!) | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  5. i think the longevity comes down to the praticular blogger. Sometimes real life cuts in and a blog comes down for that reason, or someone loses interest in keeping a record on a blog ect.

    I have been blogging steadily since 2009 and off and on before that since 2006. So a fairly long time. I don’t have as many followers as I used to because I changed blog formats last year and some didn’t come over, but that is okay. I love the community but I also blog for me and I think that is an important part to blogging if you plan on doing it for a long time.

    • Totally agree! I sometimes find myself thinking ‘if I did this I could get more followers/hits’ and then I stop myself and wonder why I care. I started the blog because I wanted to, for me, so I shouldn’t worry about how many people are reading it. It’s hard not to get carried away with it sometimes though. I refuse to let it take over my life! Lol.

  6. I started my blog totally on the spur of the moment in mid-August (just had my 100th post yesterday!)–I’d been reading blogs for years, had enjoyed reading some weekly memes I’d been coming across, and one day just decided to jump in. I figured that I’d want to post something other than meme responses, so I decided that books and reading could be an easy theme since I love books and love sharing thoughts about books.

    I don’t do formal reviews–I just write about books I like and general literacy themes during the week–sometimes part of a meme, sometimes not–and then do non-bookish memes pr posts on the weekends.

    I’m still a total newbie, but I think a big reason I’ve continued is I only post when I have something to say (my “real-life” friends will tell you that I ALWAYS have something to say!). If I felt I had to commit to a post every day, I’m afraid I’d start to think of it as work–and it takes up too much time to be viewed as a chore!

    I’ve also found the community to be so supportive, and I’ve “met” a lot of really interesting folks via blog since August!

  7. Great idea for a post! I have been blogging a few months over a year, and I too was surprised to discover many of my favorite book blogs had only been up and running may be a few months longer (especially the ones that look polished and professional). It’s only lately that I’ve noticed most of the blogs I come across are under two years old, so I’m kind of wondering if two years is the cutoff mark, lol. I’m also sad to say that a few of the book blogs I follow haven’t put up a new post in several months… I can’t say as I blame them, though, because it is such a huge time commitment that I feel like I have another part-time job.

    Anyway, my world is books and I started the blog partly to document my journeys in reading. Because it started out as such a personal thing, I think that gives me extra motivation to keep going. Also, I find it an incredibly fulfilling creative outlet and feel accomplished after every post. I am very curious to see if I make it past the “gauntlet” of two years ha ha. I will say, I have not yet experienced any form of blogging burnout, so I think that bodes well. Also, I just might be too stubborn to quit. 🙂

    • haha I am definitely too stubborn to quit too. I WILL see it through! I’m looking forward to see if I have what it takes to keep mine going beyond the 2 year mark too. Only time will tell I guess, but as long as there are great books out there, I think I’ll want to write about them/gush over them.

Leave a Reply

