Top Ten Tuesday: Authors that were new to me in 2013!

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish (Click the image to visit them). This week the topic is Top Ten authors that were new to me in 2013.

So this is all a bit rushed because IT’S CHRISTMAS AND I’M BEHIND ON SO MANY THINGS (deep breaths), but I really wanted to take part because I’ve discovered so many great new authors this year. So here goes:

  1. Kiera Cass (The Selection; The Elite) Obvs
  2. Kristin Cashore (Graceling; Fire; Bitter Blue) I miss this series 😦
  3. Emma Carroll (Frost Hollow Hall) This was my first ever ARC review. Loved it.
  4. Kenneth Gregory (The Polaris Whisper) Another ARC review, Kenneth recently tweeted me to say that they used one of my quotes in the book launch promo video (below). Chuffed!
  5. Sarah J. Mass (Throne of Glass; Crown of Midnight) Celaena has been one of my favourite characters this year.
  6. Glynis Cooney (Daughter of Camelot) I loved this Arthurian YA adventure.
  7. Rachel Hartman (Seraphina) This was only the 2nd book I read this year, but it definitely stands out as one of the best.
  8. Rachel Cohn & David Levithan (Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist; Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares) I’d read some Levithan before but never these two together, I love both of their collaborations.
  9. Debbie Macomber (Starry Night) I just reviewed this here
  10. Terra Harmony (Water) I need to read the other books in the series!

 

The Polaris Whisper Book Launch:


It looked like a great event. What made you list? Feel free to leave a link!

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Authors that were new to me in 2013!

  1. I read THE SELECTION last year, but didn’t get to THE ELITE yet. Waiting for next year to read all three together! OMG, Kristin Cashore!!!! I adore her. She is a fantasy favorite. When I see books compared to her writing, I want them. Immediately! She reminded me of Tamora Pierce, who was a huge influence on her, she says. If you haven’t read Pierce, do. Especially her Song of the Lioness, Protector of the Small, and Immortals quartets! You may also love Rae Carson because you love Kristin Cashore! I do! One author that made my list this year, Sherry Thomas’ THE BURNING SKY, was for fans of GRACELING! That type of book is a favorite of mine, one of my specialties! Let me know if you want more recommendations 🙂

    Sarah J. Maas, yeeeees! love her! I am dying to read SERAPHINA…but I heard the cliffhanger is bad. Waiting for a sequel!

    Great list!

    • Thanks for the recommendations, I’ll definitely have to check them out! I’ve heard a lot of good things about Tamora Pierce but not managed to get round to it yet!

  2. I definitely agree about David Levithan & Rachel Cohn’s collaborations! Have you read Naomi & Ely’s No Kiss LIst? I loved that one too… and I love David Levithan’s solo books as well. Amazing writer. I still need to read Seraphina and the Graceling series!

Leave a Reply

