2014 Challenges & Goals

I don’t really make New Year’s Resolutions but I’m definitely jumping on the bandwagon in setting some reading/blogging challenges for myself this year. It’s nice to have goals, right?

1. Goodreads Challenge/ Yearly Goal

I have set my yearly book reading goal this year at 70 books. My average always used to be around 60 but since I started blogging it’s increased a bit. As this will be my first full year of book blogging I thought I’d really try to challenge myself.

2014 Reading Challenge

2014 Reading Challenge
Lauren has read 1 book toward her goal of 70 books.
hide

 

2. TBR Pile Challenge.

I have a ridiculous amount of (print) books on my To-Be-Read pile. Like seriously. And obviously it’s constantly growing too so taking part in this challenge hosted by Bookish is a no-brainer. Click on the image below to visit them and find out more about the 2014 TBR Pile Reading Challenge or to sign up!


 

3. Rereads

One of the things I haven’t managed to do since starting up this blog is reread some of my favourite books and I really miss that. So I am challenging myself to reread at least 10. I’ll post more about this soon and might even do a poll so you guys can help me decide which ones I should reread (mainly because I know I’ll find it really hard to pick just 10).

4. Series

I am completely rubbish at sticking with series of books and I don’t want to commit too much by saying I will complete all the unfinished series I’ve been reading because I know that’s just never going to happen. But, I have singled out a few series that I’ve been enjoying and challenged myself to finish them by the end of the year. I CAN DO THIS!

18 thoughts on “2014 Challenges & Goals

  1. I am doing the TBR pile challenge too, hoping to get as many read as possible. I have hundreds of books, paperbacks and kindle ones just sitting there calling out my name, some have been there for over 10 years and being pushed aside for the newer ones I keep buying, need to rectify it.

    • 10 years…wow! My oldest ones have been there for maybe 5 years but I do exactly the same. The longer a book has been sitting there, the less likely I am to pick it up, even if I was so excited about it when I first bought it.

      I don’t know which level to go for though as I want to make sure I read and review new books too. But here’s to making a dent in our piles…that sounded a bit wrong.

      • Lol, I think I went for 21-30, we can always go higher if we are doing well. I want it ti be achievable so i will actually do it. Like you I want to b able to read review books to? I am also doing the netgalley challenge.

  2. Thanks for following me. Wow, you have set some high goals! I’m only going for the 25+ range, but I’m also going to be doing some chunksters (books with 450+ pages), so it takes me a little longer to get through some of those. Good luck!

  3. The Game of Thrones books is one series that should have you hooked enough to complete them… but their length means you’ll probably struggle to hit your total goal.

    Life is so unfair sometimes.

  4. Good luck in your goals. I made a decision not to sign up to any challenges as I find I put too much pressure on myself when I get distracted by something newer and shinier (which always happens) The only goal I have is to read 120 books. I did 117 in 2013 so it should be achievable…. I hope.

  5. Pingback: Slaying Saturday! | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  6. Pingback: Reread Challenge *Vote Now* | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  7. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 09.07.14 | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  8. Pingback: Coming Up! | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

