Saying Goodbye to Warsaw by Michael Cargill

18464101Like any girl who is loved by her family, Abigail Nussbaum loves to chase butterflies, enjoys lying on her back looking for shapes in the clouds, and happily teaches young children to make daisy chains.

In the eyes of certain people, however, Abigail has committed a heinous crime. The year is 1940; the place is Poland; Abigail happens to be Jewish.

Along with half a million other Jews, Abigail and her family are evicted from their home and forced to live in the bombed out ruins of Warsaw, the Polish capital.

Although a handful decide to fight back, is the uprising strong enough to save Abigail’s spirit?

Saying Goodbye to Warsaw is a surprisingly light read given the subject matter. It centers around the Nussbaum family of Abbie, her brother Leo, and her mother Chana who are imprisoned in a bombed-out ghetto in Warsaw in the midst of WW2.

Much of the book describes the squalor and poverty that has been thrust upon them, their fear of the German soldiers and the uncertainty of their future – however protagonist Abbie is a carefree, daydreamer who can see beauty and excitement in almost anything, giving the story a light-hearted, innocent tone.

I liked Abbie as the protagonist for that reason but I also felt like the main crux of story was being overlooked – the truth of their plight. Eventually we’re introduced to Alenka who is part of an underground resistance group which Leo has joined.

All of a sudden the innocent, light tone is replaced with a growing sense of impending doom and that’s the part of the story that shone for me. And I loved how much Abbie’s character changes throughout this book.

As for the things I didn’t enjoy – there were only a few. I found the start of the book quite slow and the writing didn’t flow easily for me but after a couple of chapters it seemed to improve. And I wished we’d met Alenka a lot sooner.

Saying Goodbye to Warsaw is a slow-burner but I thought the journey was totally worth it.

unicorn rating 4

Disclosure?: Yep, I received a copy from the author in exchange for an HONEST review. (THANKS)
Title: Saying Goodbye to Warsaw
Author: Michael Cargill
Details: Paperback, 170 pages
Publication Date: Published September 8th 2013 by Createspace
My Rating: 4/5
If you like this try: The Book Thief.

7 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye to Warsaw by Michael Cargill

  1. Yay, glad you liked it! Those four unicorns are looking proud, stout, and stoic-like, something that can’t fail to bring a tear to my eye.

    Alenka has actually proved to be a more popular character than I imagined she would be.

    Thanks for taking the time to read and review this, it’s hugely appreciated. If I happen to spot you on the escalators in The Bentall Centre I’ll be more than happy to buy you a coffee.

    • haha thanks for letting me read it, I really enjoyed it. Alenka was definitely my favourite! I was actually on the escalators in Bentalls yesterday and someone looked at me funny, was it you, WAS IT!? :p

      Good luck with everything!

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesday! (15/01/2014) | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  3. Pingback: January 2014 on Lipsyy Lost & Found | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

