Top Ten Tuesday: Reading Wishlist

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish (Click the image to visit them).

This week the theme is: Top Ten Things on my Reading Wishlist

Most, if not all of these must exist but I want more of them! If you guys have any recommendations please leave a comment! 🙂

  1. YA books in which girls are not obsessed with boys
  2. YA books set in a tennis academy/the world of tennis (I’m actually planning to write one of these so I guess it’s good I haven’t come across many!)
  3. Female protagonists who can see themselves as others see them, and not how they see themselves (which is always ugly or plain, or fat, or unwanted).
  4. More kick-ass Vampire fiction where the vampires are actually dangerous/scary/not sparkly. Damn you, Twilight.
  5. YA Arthurian fiction – I read one great one last year and I need more.
  6. Scarlett Thomas to release something amazing. Our Tragic Universe was a let down but she is one of my favourite British Authors
  7. More Katsa/Po from the Graceling world
  8. Gay characters who are not hung up about being gay
  9. Horror that is actually scary (I wanted Doctor Sleep to fulfill this last year. It didn’t.)
  10. YA books that don’t ignore parents!
22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Reading Wishlist

  1. I feel like that’s the only way to properly do diversity- to get it “normalised” in society- have the characters representing them but don’t make a song and a dance about it! If you’ve not read Patrick Ness’ More Than This- it does this very well!

  2. Ooh, I’d love to see a book set around the world of tennis, and I think it would also be really refreshing to see a girl who is not totally obsessed with boys.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  3. YES to gay characters not being hung up on being gay! Why not just have a book about a character that is gay, yet that isn’t the FOCUS OF THE BOOK??
    I still need to read Graceling!!!! I have all 3 books though, so I’m ready!!

  4. Pingback: January 2014 on Lipsyy Lost & Found | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

