Top Ten Tuesday: Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish (click the image to visit them) who pick a different topic each week. This week the topic is Ten Authors I’ve never read.

For some reason I found this really hard. I’m sure there are loads of popular authors that I’ve never read but most of the ones that came to mind were Chick-Lit so I tried to mix it up a bit.

J.K Rowling: I know this will be the big shocker on this list. Everyone who meets me expects me to love Harry Potter. It is the kind of thing I like, granted, yet I’ve never read them. I’m not really against reading them, but I just feel it’s a bit too late now. That, and I’ve seen a few of the films – which were positively average – and I hate reading books after seeing the films. Maybe one day…
hp

hp1

Cecelia Ahern: I’m not averse to Chick-Lit at all, but it’s never my go-to genre. I’ve been told I’d really like Cecelia’s books by a few people though and still haven’t picked any up. I totally secretly love the P.S I Love You film, mainly because of this guy:

jdm

Marian Keyes & Jodie Picoult: Again, I’ve heard good things but I’ve never really felt the need to pick up their books!

Gillian Flynn: I’ve had Gone Girl on my TBR pile since it came out. I know, I know, I NEED to read it. I Will, I promise. Soon.

Lee Child & Jo Nesbo: I really love gritty crime/ suspense novels and I like the sound of both of these authors…I just haven’t got round to them yet. One day.

Alexander McCall Smith: I doubt I’ll ever pick up the Detective Agency books for the simple fact that I hate the covers. I know that’s really bad, but they do nothing for me whatsoever and have really put me off.

AMS

Phillipa Gregory: I think I would probably like these books but I feel like I’ve missed the boat a bit. When I feel like a bit of Historical Fiction I usually go for the Arthurian Era reads because I’m fascinated by that period, but I should definitely branch out.

Rick Riordan: I love books that take mythology and bring it into a modern setting so I have no doubt that I’d love the Percy Jackson books, but like Harry Potter, I saw the film first. Unlike Harry Potter though, I think I will definitely try and read these at some point.

What would make your list? Feel free to leave your link in the comments!

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

  1. Don’t stress about JK. I read the first Harry Potter when I was tiny, and I adored it, but then I never finished the series. I know what you mean about feeling a bit late to the party, haha πŸ˜„
    Ohmygosh P.S. I Love You is such a perfect movie ❀ I have never gotten around to reading the book, though! :O I think I have read an Ahern novel, though. I remember I was very annoyed by the ending. And then a friend of mine said that P.S. I Love You was a better movie than it was a book, and I never got around to reading it!
    I haven't read any of the other authors you've mentioned, either! Although I do want to read Gregory, and Riordan. I hear so many amazing things about their books!

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one to not have read some of these! I’m sure one day we’ll get round to them….now I really want to go home and watch PS I Love You! Damn you, work…always getting in the way!

  2. I’m loving all these Top 10 Tuesdays today, they’re really interesting! Cecelia Ahern is a fantastic writer – one of my favourites. You should definitely give her books a go πŸ™‚

    • Me too, it’s turned out a lot more interesting than I originally thought it would. Thanks for the recommendation…I’ll try to pick one them up at some point!

  3. Percy Jackson films are a travesty. The books are fantastic though, highly recommend them (and Hp of course. The films left so much out!).

  4. I need to take part in this TTT! It’s still Tuesday… isn’t it? (Long week already!)

    I think you REALLY should read Harry Potter. Honestly, the third book onwards are so wonderful. You don’t NEED to. But you’ll love them. I’m sure of it.

    I’ve read one Cecelia Ahern, The Book of Tomorrow, and I loved it! Worth trying.

    Other than that I’ve not read any books from the other authors on your list either!

  5. Great list! The P.S I Love You book is SO much better than the film. I like Cecelia Ahern although her recent books haven’t been as special for me. Jo Nesbo is on my list too. Hopefully sometime soon I will read a book of his!

  6. I hear what you are saying about Rowling. I haven’t read The Hunger Games books though it seems everyone has read them, and it just seems too late to start on them.

  7. OK–confession time–I read the first Harry Potter long ago, and I thought it was . . . fine. I’ve never felt the urge to read any more of them. It’s just not a genre that I enjoy. (Don’t judge me, people!!!) πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: Top Ten Popular Authors I’ve Never Read | Brin's Book Blog

  9. I feel exactly the same about the Alexander McCall Smith covers! And I also get where you’re coming from on JK, when something’s been that big it can put me off reading it late in the day for unspecific reasons that I’m never quite sure about (am I a snob about ‘popular’ literature? Maybe…)

    Also I read my first Phillippa Gregory recently and was decidedly underwhelmed, I prefer Anya Seton if I have to go for HF.

  10. You probably don’t need one more person telling you to read Harry Potter, right? πŸ™‚ I loved the books, but I think reading them as they came out was probably a very different experience than reading them after seeing the movies. (Still, the books are amazing, so I recommend them no matter what!) I’ve read some Jodi Picoult, and I think 1 or 2 are plenty (they tend to be a lot of the same, imo). I have the Alexander McCall Smith books on my list this week too. I’ll probably give the 1st one a try, even though it’s not my typical preferred type of genre. Interesting choices!

  11. Pingback: March 2014 on Lipsyy Lost & Found | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

