WWW Wednesday! 05.03.2014

www_wednesdays4

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading? • What did you recently finish reading? • What do you think you’ll read next?

www

Currently Reading: I’ve just started The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh, not much to report so far, but I think I’m going to like it. Needed a break from all the YA/Vampire stuff I’ve been reading lately. (See below for more)

Recently Finished: I finished Cinder, which I loved! Review should be up soon! And Eden Forest by Aoife Marie Sheridan for her book tour, stopping here tomorrow!

Up Next: I’ve said it 3 weeks in a row now (things keep coming up!!), but either Blood Orange Soda or Monsters of Men (Chaos Walking Trilogy #3) by Patrick Ness

The Weight of Blood – Laura McHugh

weight
For fans of Gillian Flynn and Daniel Woodrell, a dark, gripping debut novel of literary suspense about two mysterious disappearances, a generation apart, and the meaning of family-the sacrifices we make, the secrets we keep, and the lengths we will go to protect the ones we love.

The Dane family’s roots tangle deep in the Ozark Mountain town of Henbane, but that doesn’t keep sixteen-year-old Lucy Dane from being treated like an outsider. Folks still whisper about her mother, a bewitching young stranger who inspired local myths when she vanished years ago. When one of Lucy’s few friends, slow-minded Cheri, is found murdered, Lucy feels haunted by the two lost girls-the mother she never knew and the friend she couldn’t protect.

Everything changes when Lucy stumbles across Cheri’s necklace in an abandoned trailer and finds herself drawn into a search for answers. What Lucy discovers makes it impossible to ignore the suspicion cast on her own kin. More alarming, she suspects Cheri’s death could be linked to her mother’s disappearance, and the connection between the two puts Lucy at risk of losing everything. In a place where the bonds of blood weigh heavy, Lucy must decide where her allegiances lie.

Leave a comment with your link and I’ll come visit!

Author: lipsyy

Creative Writing graduate. A Northerner in London. I probably love books a bit too much. Also enjoy vampires, unicorns, man love, tennis & can't get enough of trashy teen novels. I find myself thinking 'What Would Buffy Do?' way too frequently. HIYA!

23 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday! 05.03.2014”

      1. It’s not a genre I typically read but I might have to add it to my tbr haha!

  1. Cinder has been on my TBR forever! I really, really, really want to read it, but just haven’t found the time. Glad you enjoyed it!

  2. I think I do the same thing with my ‘reading next’, I get terribly sidetracked by new books. Which is why I have 16 books on my currently reading list on goodreads atm. Ridiculous! And now I’m going to have to add The Weigh of Blood to my TBR.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Odd Librarian Out

Not your average librarian, not your average blog

Letters to a Young Librarian

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Teen Librarian

libraries, teens, books, reviews news...

JUSTIN HOENKE

MUSIC, LIFE, LIBRARIES, ETC

Eliterate Librarian

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Spellbound Librarian

A lover of magical books : Book reviews, and general book rambling

The Dwarf Did It...

Book Reviews, Bookish recipes and crafts, subscription box reviews

THE MYSTIQUE BOOKS

Celebrating Books

Confessions of a YA Reader

Book blog. Mostly YA, but a little bit of everything.

%d bloggers like this: