The Selection Stories [insert squeal here] by Kiera Cass.

18172471 (1)Two novellas set in the world of Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series are now available in print for the first time. The Prince and The Guard both offer captivating views into the hearts and minds of the two men fighting to win America Singer’s love. This collection also features exclusive bonus content, including a sneak peek at The One, the eagerly anticipated third novel in the Selection series.

Before America arrived at the palace to compete in the Selection, there was another girl in Prince Maxon’s life. The Prince opens the week before the Selection begins and follows Maxon through the first day of the competition.

Raised as a Six, Aspen Leger never dreamed that he would find himself living in the palace as a member of the royal guard. In The Guard, readers get an inside look at Aspen’s life within the palace walls–and the truth about a guard’s world that America will never know.

Just in case you’ve missed my previous fangirling installments, I’m a teeny bit obsessed with Kiera Cass’ The Selection Series, certainly more obsessed than any 30 year old should be (shudder)! But I’ve never been one to read novellas, especially when they’re only available online, so I was pretty stoked when this was released last month to add to my collection of pretty covers.

Oh Maxon. Swoon.

There’s not a great deal to The Prince and The Guard really, but they still quenched my Selection thirst and will tide me over until The One is released next month.

Both novellas let us see the selection process from different perspectives than the books. In The Prince, we see Maxon prepare for the arrival of the girls, his anxieties and fears. And we also get more of an insight into his relationship with the king.

I liked finding out what he thought of America and the other girls, and becoming king. He’s just so cute, and slightly damaged which obviously hot. TEAM MAXON all the way.

In The Guard, we get a better insight into the royal guard and Aspen’s plans to win America back, set at the time of the second book, The Elite. We also see more of the sinister underbelly of the court, and the rebel attacks.

Also, there was this weird part about the guards taking drugs to enhance their abilities, which never really developed into anything but was a welcome element of intrigue. Hopefully it’ll develop into more in The One.

I think it would be hard to recommend this to anyone who hasn’t read the books, but it could be a good taster. The series is definitely not for everyone, but I think it’s a masterpiece in YA trash. I can’t get enough.

Is it May 6th yet???

unicorn rating 4

Disclosure?: Nope, I bought it!
Title: The Selection Stories
Author: Kiera Cass
Details: Paperback, 227 pages
Published: February 4th 2014 by HarperTeen
My Rating: 4/5

Author: lipsyy

Creative Writing graduate. A Northerner in London. I probably love books a bit too much. Also enjoy vampires, unicorns, man love, tennis & can't get enough of trashy teen novels. I find myself thinking 'What Would Buffy Do?' way too frequently. HIYA!

6 thoughts on “The Selection Stories [insert squeal here] by Kiera Cass.”

  1. I love how you adore this series! It makes me think of you every time I think of it 😀 I hope that doesn’t sound creepy… 😀

Leave a comment

Odd Librarian Out

Not your average librarian, not your average blog

Letters to a Young Librarian

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Teen Librarian

libraries, teens, books, reviews news...

Eliterate Librarian

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Spellbound Librarian

A lover of magical books : Book reviews, and general book rambling

The Dwarf Did It...

Book Reviews, Bookish recipes and crafts, subscription box reviews

THE MYSTIQUE BOOKS

Celebrating Books

Confessions of a YA Reader

Book blog. Mostly YA, but a little bit of everything.

Written Word Worlds

Just one more chapter...