Dear Netgalley….

…You have been an invaluable service to me and my blog. You have allowed me read an abundance of books before their release date. You are extremely easy to use, and have asked for little in return – a review.

However, if you ‘archive’ one more book BEFORE the publication date so I can no longer download it, and therefore can not read and review it, we are going to have words. This has been the second time in as many months that a book when originally requested, had no archive date set. And then, at least one week BEFORE the publication date you have suddenly archived it, making it redundant.

It’s not just the missing out on reading the book itself, it’s more what it is doing to my NetGalley profile. I now only have a 60% feedback to approval ratio. That can’t be good can it? Can I dispute it?

Answer me, Netgalley Gods!

Sincerely Annoyed,

Lipsy

11 thoughts on “Dear Netgalley….

  1. Oh this has happened to me many times. I tend to try and download it as soon as I’ve been approved but I’m not always successful. I have been known to send back a comment in the to publisher section saying something like “This book was archived before I downloaded a copy, so I’ve been unable to review!” 😀

    • It’s so infuriating, but I’ll make sure I download them straight away from now on. And thanks for the tip! I wasn’t sure if you could do that without leaving a link or something but I’ll give it a go if it ever happens again!

  2. I always download as soon as approved because this happened to me a couple of times too.
    Not sure that it’s Netgalley though – I would have thought it was more likely to be the publisher who applies the archive date??
    Lynn 😀

  3. This happened to me too this week. I usually download as soon as I’m approved but had to delay and then it was archived without warning. Good to know I’m not the only one to be frustrated by this.

  4. Pingback: April 2014 on Lipsyy Lost & Found | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

