Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Covers

toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish (click the image to visit them) who pick a different topic each week.

This week the topic is Covers That You’d Frame as Pieces of Art.

So I wouldn’t necessarily want all of these hanging on my walls, but here are some my favourite book covers.

  1. The End of Mr Y – Scarlett Thomas
  2. Zombies Vs Unicorns – Holly Black et al
  3. Graceling – Kristin Cashore
  4. The Princess Bride – William Goldman
  5. The Assassin’s Blade – Sarah J. Maas
  6. Words Once Spoken – Carly Drake
  7. The Book of Lost Things – John Connolly
  8. Doon – Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon
  9. Inkheart – Cornelia Funke
  10. Dark Eden – Chris Beckett

And one more for good measure: I found this book in a charity shop a while back and was so taken with it I had to buy it. It’s so terrible, but in a really great way. It’s very pulp fiction. And I don’t mean the film. I just love it – the head is all shiny! I would totally hang this on my wall – I’m weird like that!

ice

Ice Orchids (1984)

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Covers

  1. I stared at the princess bride for ages wondering whether to include it in mine! And I nearly added the book of lost things too- but it was on my “Favourite covers meme” post as well so I wanted to try not to do that.

    THAT VERSION OF INKHEART IS BEAUTIFUL. I’ve never seen that before!

    • Yeah, I tried to pick ones I thought not everyone would pick! I love that Inkheart book so much, unfortunately I never managed to get the last book in that edition which makes me sad!

  2. I’m not sure what to make of that cover with the unicorn versus zombie. And I suppose that’s the point I guess haha. The colour blending on Dark Eden is pretty nice– I think anything with a myriad of colours blended and utilised effectively in tune with its backdrop/characters/etc is pretty much a winner for me…unless it’s overdone 😦

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  3. So many choices here that I also considered!! The Princess Bride, The End of Mr Y, Graceling and The Book of Lost Things – I’m starting to think that my book cover choices are greatly influenced by the books I love!!
    I think your No.11 is great – I was so busy taking in the art style that I completely overlooked that the head was severed! Not sure I’d want a huge poster of it with that eye ‘watching’ *chills*
    Lynn πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

