Top Ten Tuesday: Underrated British Authors

toptentuesday Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish (click the image to visit them) who pick a different topic each week.

This week the topic is: Top Ten Underrated Authors or Books in X genre

Woah, this is a tough one. It was taking me a really long time to even chose a genre, so I’m just going for underrated British Authors!

I feel like authors are mainly underrated because of the genres they write in. I like to read a lot of different genres as I’m sure most bloggers do, but I think the average reader is more set in their ways and tend to overlook certain authors for that reason.

That was the basis of my thinking for this list. If it’s not a genre you usually go for, give these authors a go.

TTT

  • Scarlett Thomas – Contemporary with a Sci-Fi twist
  • Derek Landy – Children’s Fiction
  • Darren Shan – Horror; Children’s Fiction
  • Marcus Sedgwick – YA
  • Mark Haddon – Contemporary
  • Kate Morton – Historical/Women’s Fiction
  • Ann Cleaves – Crime Fiction
  • Trisha Ashley – Women’s Fiction
  • Malorie Blackman – YA
  • John Connolly – Known for his Crime series, but check out his YA
22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Underrated British Authors

    • Yeah, that’s very true as well. I couldn’t name one Australian children’s author – how depressing. Or maybe it’s just that I don’t know they’re Australian!?

  1. Kate Morton is actually really well known here in the US, and I ADORE her books! Same with Marcus Sedgwick, although he’s definitely not as well known outside of the genre community, he’s certainly loved by bloggers:-) Great list!

    • Yeah I know… but I’d like to claim him as one of my own. :p Plus, it felt a bit of a cheat putting ‘Underrated British & Irish Authors when I only had one on the list. I did almost go for Colin Bateman too though, to be fair.

    • I definitely say give Skulduggery Pleasant a go. They start off quite ‘young’ but they’re funny and pretty dark as well. Plus, as the protagonist grows up they definitely get a lot more YA than children’s. If you like lots of action and a kick-ass female protagonist then I think you’d like them 🙂

  2. I’m definitely going to have to check some of these out. I’ve heard a bit about Marcus Sedgwick and I think its time I read something of his. What do you recommend first? Scarlett Thomas sounds really good too.

  3. I’ve been meaning to read a Kate Morton book and The Secret Keeper has been recommended to me more than once. John Connolly’s The Book of Lost Things was amazing, so I will have to check out The Gates.
    My TTT

  4. Pingback: September 2014 on Lipsyy Lost & Found/ October Releases | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Authors! | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Happy 5th Birthday TTT! | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

