This Week in Books 04.02.15

icon2

Welcome to my new Wednesday post, where I sum-up what I’ve been up to in bookland the past week.

twib3

Now: Goth Girl and the Fete Worse Than Death ~ Chris Riddell //Me & Mr J ~ Rachel McIntyre

Early days with both of these but enjoying them so far.

Then: Red Queen ~ Victoria Aveyard

I am so glad the hype didn’t ruin this book. I loved it! But I also have a LOT to say in the review. It will be up on Monday, closer to the release date (Feb 12th).

I also finished the first Goth Girl book and I’ll be reviewing book 1 & 2 together next week.

Next: ???

Once again, I’m not sure. There are lots of options. I really want to start The Ghosts of Heaven soon, and all the other books I got for my birthday. Plus I caved in and bought some new books too…

New on the Shelf

(Linking up with Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews)

My book buying ban is on hiatus because, well, the release of Fairest crept up on me. And it’s not like you can just order one book from Amazon. I’m sad that Fairest hasn’t turned up yet, but these two arrived yesterday:

IMG_3615

However, I didn’t make any Netgalley requests or borrow any from friends, so that’s something, right?

New on the Wishlist

Golden Boy ~ Abigail Tarttelin
goldenboy
This book appeared on quite a few Top Ten Tuesday lists last week as a good book club read. I need it. Right now.

Max Walker: blue-eyed boy or girl next door?

To the outside world, Max Walker is a golden boy: a loving son and brother, the perfect student, captain of the football team and every girl’s dream boyfriend.

But Max was born intersex – neither fully boy nor fully girl. Now something terrible has happened to him, the consequences of which have left him questioning his true identity.

Can the people around him – his girlfriend, his classmates, his ambitious parents – accept him for who he is? Or will Max’s secret life tear his world apart?

I’m Waiting on…

(Linking up with Breaking the Spine)

The Selection Stories #2 ~ Kiera Cass

theselectionstories2
Obviously I’m ultimately waiting on The Heir which is due to be released in the summer, but that’s way too far away for my liking. So I’m pining over this novella collection in the mean time with a much kinder release date of March 3rd.

Two novellas set in the captivating world of Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series, now available in print for the first time! In The Queen and The Favorite, discover untold stories from the lives of two of the Selection series’ most beloved characters.

Before America Singer’s story began, another girl came to the palace to compete for the hand of a different prince. In The Queen, follow Prince Maxon’s mother, Amberly, through the Selection that made her a beloved queen.

Marlee Tames came to the palace to win Prince Maxon’s heart—but her own heart had other ideas. The Favorite goes behind the scenes of Marlee and Carter’s life together, from the fateful night their secret was discovered to the events at the end of The One.

So, that’s my week in books, now how about yours?

If you still do a similar WWW post (or just want to join in, leave your link/answers in the comments, OR why not tweet using #ThisWeekInBooks, and I’ll come and visit!

22 thoughts on “This Week in Books 04.02.15

  1. You were with me when I picked it up at ComCon… Anyway if they’r raving about it, they’re wrong! I’ll probably get lynched for saying it because the book is about very sensitive subject but it’s badly written 😦

    • Ahh I didn’t realise it was that…obvs I’d never heard of it at the time. Hmm well, I’ll take your word for it, but I still want to read it :p

    • Thanks! I think you might be the first person I heard to not gush all over Aristotle…interesting! I look forward to finding out what I make of it. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Pingback: This Week in Books 11.02.15 | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  3. Pingback: February on Lipsyy Lost & Found // March Releases | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

