Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read

icon4-ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish (click the link to visit them) who pick a different topic each week.

The topic for this week is: Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read

A lot of these are for similar reasons! In no particular order…

Harry Potter 

Yes, yes I know. I was tempted to leave this off the list because of the abuse/ ‘omigodyouhaventreadpotter’ reaction it inevitably invokes. But no, I’ve never read any Harry Potter. It wasn’t a conscious decision I made I just never fancied it, and when the films came out I wasn’t that taken with them either.

I have no idea why as the sort of thing I usually like. Maybe i’m just being contrary, I don’t know. But if I haven’t read them by now, I doubt I ever will. So please don’t bother to try and convince me 😉

Game of Thrones

I wish I’d read these before I started to watch the series, but seeing as I didn’t, I doubt I ever will. The books sound pretty epic, but I think I’d find the overly descriptive style and the length of them annoying. I’ll stick with the show, thanks.

Outlander

I’m not as sure about this one. I do really want to read this series but the size of them puts me off. I haven’t watched the TV program yet, but I might just watch it instead. A cop-out I know.

The rest of The Maze Runner books

I made the mistake of watching the film before I read the book. I really liked the film, much more than I was expecting to, and I didn’t like the book much at all, so I think I’ll stick with the films…assuming they continue…

If I Stay/ Gone Girl

I’ll never read either of these for almost the same reason. I saw the film adaptations first and don’t feel the need to read the books. In the case of If I Stay, I was pleasantly surprised by the film and enjoyed it a lot. With Gone Girl…ack..it had its moments but man it was long, and the twist was obvious. I don’t see the point in reading the book now.

Various Classics

There’s a lot of classics I’ll probably never touch. I avoided most of the required reading at school (such a rebel), because I just found a lot of them dull, with a few exceptions. I’m mainly thinking about the Brontes, Austen, and Dickens here. They are obviously great stories, but the style isn’t for me. If I’m reading for pleasure, I want it to be just that!

That’s all I’ve got this week. I look forward to checking out what made everyone else’s lists later. Feel free to leave a link 🙂

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read

  1. Your comment about GOT ‘I think I’d find the overly descriptive style’ strangely, I’m reading the first book now and I actually find the writing style really basic and nothing amazing which (like you) I also expected a Tolkien-like writing style but it’s actually very… basic (I think that’s the word I’m looking for). Definitely no beautiful prose in that book.
    Totally understand your list though ^_^

    • Oh really!? I’m mainly going on what other people have said about the descriptive style of GoT…but also because I read Ferve Dream and didn’t get on with the writing style of that either.

  2. I think you should try GOT series. It’s not at all Tolkien-like or flowery. It’s very easy to read, and most important, the plot in the books differs quite a bit from the TV series, in some major ways.

  3. I am with you on Game of Thrones and Outlander. I also have several classics I think I’ll never read 🙂

  4. I’ve never read Harry Potter either. They came out at a time when I wasn’t much of a reader and I thought I was too old for YA (which is funny now bc I read YA all the time and am much older). I think I’ve read enough spoilers over the years that I’ll probably never read these.

  5. I totally agree with you about not reading books after seeing the movies or shows; it’s just not the same! I do, however, plan to read the Game of Thrones books because I love the show so much! Happy reading! 🙂

  6. If you’re considering Outlander at all, read the book before (or instead of) watching the TV show. Much more depth, much more character development. Well, and I’m a big Harry Potter and ASoIaF fan, but I won’t try to convince you to read them! (Okay, yeah, I think everyone should read them, but I won’t bore you with all the reasons why! 🙂 ) I have a long list of classics too, and by now, I’ve started accepting that some of them I”ll just never read.

  7. Aww sorry to hear that you’re not interested in reading the Harry Potter books! Loved those but maybe because I grew up with them. It was fun to anticipate the releases of the books as the years went by.

    I really liked If I Stay and Where She Went too. I hope they make a movie adaptation for the latter. Reading and watching that kind of made me want to try playing the cello. LOL.

  8. I love Harry Poter but it’s not for everyone so I won’t try to convince you to read it. I also liked Gone Girl but I get why you don’t want to read it, you can read the book before the film, but reading the book after the film just doesn’t work. I also liked The Maze Runner but I think it’s one of those that translates better on the big screen than it does in the book, so if you liked the film you probably are best sticking with those. I don’t think I’ll ever read Game of Thrones either. I’m not a big classics fan either, I find them so dull!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/05/top-ten-tuesday-3/

  9. GoT is actually not that descriptive; I wouldn’t even consider it “epic” fantasy, it’s more “low fantasy”. It’s mostly just political drama really. Not that I recommend it! I personally think it’s just “ok”. And I am with you on Outlander – each of those books look longer than GoT and I’ve heard that some of them are slow reads. GoT I’ve read but they’re really fast reads. 🙂

Leave a Reply

