Lazy Saturday Review: There is no Dog by Meg Rosoff

thereisnodog
Title: There is no Dog
Author: Meg Rosoff
Series: N/A
Edition: Hardback, 243 pages
Publication Details: May 1st 2012 by Puffin Books
Genre(s): YA
Disclosure? Nope, I bought it!

Goodreads // Purchase

Imagine that God is a typical teenage boy. He is lazy, careless, self-obsessed, sex-mad – and about to meet Lucy, the most beautiful girl on earth. Unfortunately, whenever Bob falls in love, disaster follows. Let us pray that Bob does not fall in love with Lucy.

Review


I’ve been wanting to read more Rosoff since I saw her at YALC last year, and read How I Live Now shortly after. I loved that book, it was full of big ideas, complex themes and was completely absorbing; Unfortunately, I didn’t feel quite the same with There is no Dog!

I thought the synopsis sounded amazing, what if God was a lazy-ass, petulant, teenage boy whose sole goal in life is to get his end away? Amazing right? Gahhh it really should have been, but instead it was just…weird.

It has all these great ideas, but they never seemed to go anywhere. I felt like this was a neat little short story that had been dragged out and the meaning got lost somewhere.

Don’t get me wrong, it was entertaining and often funny, but it could have been so much more!

unicorn rating 2

4 thoughts on “Lazy Saturday Review: There is no Dog by Meg Rosoff

  1. I’ve read a handful of Meg Rosoff’s books by now, and I picked up There Is No Dog for the same reasons as you — loved How I LIve Now, thought the premise of this one sounded quirky and fun. And like you, I found it disappointing. Just kind of messy and odd, which being the kind of odd that I find entertaining. I’ll keep an eye out for more of her books, but this one didn’t work for me.

    • I’m glad it wasn’t just me! I usually like odd, but something just felt off with this one. It definitely won’t put me off trying her other books though!

  2. Pingback: This Month in Books: July 2015 | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

