Horror Films That Still Scare Me #1 #HorrorOctober

HorrorOct2015

I’ve been a fan of horror films since I can remember, from a way-too-early age, so I’ve seen more than my fair share.

The only problem with that, is that I’ve become desensitised to them, or maybe horror films just aren’t as scary as they used to be, because I can probably count on one hand the number of horror films that have scared me in the past 10 years. To be fair, it’s probably a bit of both!

Over the next few weeks I’m going to share my favourite horror films. The ones that scared me when I first saw them, and still scare me today…

Child’s Play (1988) & Child’s Play 2 (1990)

Director: Tom Holland/John Lafia
Writers: Don Mancini (story & screenplay)
Cast: Catherine Hicks, Chris Sarandon, Alex Vincent, Jenny Agutter

“A single mother gives her son a much sought after doll for his birthday, only to discover that it is possessed by the soul of a serial killer.”

I was only four years old when the first film came out. I obviously didn’t watch it as soon as it was released, but I think it was probably only a few years after that.

Unfortunately, around that time, I had begged and begged for a Cricket doll, which was mega expensive at the time, and my parents had finally given in. I loved that doll for about a week. Until I watched Child’s Play, and then cried until my furious parents hid Cricket in the attic.

cricket

To this day I’m still wary of that attic (although they assure me the doll is long gone), and have remained creeped out by dolls.

So, when I feel like a good scare, Child’s Play (and Child’s Play 2) is a safe bet.

UP NEXT: IT!

7 thoughts on “Horror Films That Still Scare Me #1 #HorrorOctober

  1. I agree that horror movies just aren’t the same and don’t scare me as much as they used to. And it’s horrible that I’ve never seen Child’s Play!! I need to watch it.

  2. I also watched this one when I was far too young. It’s one of the reasons I don’t like having dolls around. I also had this doll when I was younger that was kept in our garage and my cousins and I would always joke that it looked like Chucky’s sister with its scrunched up face and freckles. Sounds like the movie demonized dolls for both of us.

  3. Pingback: Horror Films That Still Scare Me #2: The Stephen King Edition #HorrorOctober | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  4. Pingback: Last Month in Books: October 2015 #TMIB | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  5. Child’s play is one of my favorite movies and I love scary movies and Chucky is one of my favorite horror movie characters also one of my favorite villains I think him and Freddy Krueger are pretty funny and this movie came out before I was born (I was born in 1994) and I can’t remember how old I was when I first watched it, I was probably 10 or so anyway I was never scared of him and I love dolls, I’ve heard of Cricket and seen a couple of dolls of her on the internet most to the dolls from the toys from the 80’s I collect are Smurfs, Strawberry Shortcake, Rainbow Brite, (I have all the 10 inch dolls with sprites and I have two of the 18 inch dolls Shy Violet and Patty O Green and I have Baby Brite, Puppy Brite and Starlite), She-ra Princess of Power, Jem and the Holograms, (I have all the dolls of every single character made into a doll) and Lady Lovely Locks and the Pixie Tails from 1987 to 1989 Here is a link to her page at http://www.ghostofthedoll.co.uk http://www.ghostofthedoll.co.uk/ladylovelylocks.php in case if you don’t know who she is, Also I want to ask a few questions, If you ever see a Cricket doll these days like at Goodwill or a Flea Market do you still get creeped out by her and other dolls and do you still get wary of your parents attic?
    Just curious and I’m not judging.
    Also I’m not trying to scare you.

Leave a Reply

