We Need to Talk About…how to choose a new blog layout! #discussion

icon-discussion

We Need to Talk About…is my new discussion post where I ask the blogosphere (that’s you guys) for opinions/advice/rants on anything from ‘how do some bloggers read so many books?’ to ‘how do you rate books?’. 

Lately I’ve been thinking about changing my blog layout…

But there are so many to choose from. How do I decide? I’ve only changed my layout once in three years and it feels like a big deal to change it so please excuse my neurosis!

I want a simple layout, but one with a wider body of text and less space on the sidebars and stuff. Any suggestions?

Also, if I change it (I don’t have WP premium btw) is it easy to change back if it doesn’t work? It’s been so long I’ve forgotten how it went down last time. 

I’m also interested to know how often you change your layout, and why?

10 thoughts on “We Need to Talk About…how to choose a new blog layout! #discussion

  1. I literally just changed my blog theme like two days ago so I understand the dumb anxiety about it hahah! What I did was went through all themes and if I found one that appealed to me I went in and demoed it – tried out how the front page would look, how post pages would look, moved around the widgets. After some fiddling i found a theme I really liked and just changed over.

  2. I’m thinking about it too 🙂 I want to go green, but since I’ve changed everything in January I don’t know if I should do it again 😀
    Anyway, just experiment. Getting back to the old theme means checking if all the color/image settings left the same, but it’s worth it 😀
    Just have fun. Check out on other blogs too, usually the theme name is at the bottom.

  3. You can try out several before actually committing to the change. That’s what I’d recommend. I don’t want to discourage you but there’s not that many free ones that offer what you’re looking for :/ I’ve stuck with my current layout for the past 2 years. It def needs to change cause I’m getting bored by it, but I’m waiting until I can afford to go to selfhosted wordpress before I do it 🙂 I hope this helps. Good luck!

  4. Pingback: This Month in Books: March 2016 #TMIB | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  5. I recently changed mine. It was quite tricky, i demo-ed a few tried them out – that’s the only way to find out if they work for you… I wanted a fresher, cleaner look so went for white simplicity. It just depends whether what kind of look you want and whether you want more text or a mixture of text, and photos etc… Good luck.. I haven’t tried changing over to a paid blog yet.. that is really scary. I notice you have affiliates on your blog – I didn’t know that you could do this on a WordPress.com blog?

    • Thank you!

      Uhm yeah I wasn’t sure you could have affiliates either, but I was accepted by Affiliate Window and I assume it’s OK seeing as it’s never been queried. Or maybe it’s just a matter of time? :s To be fair, it hasn’t exactly been worth it as I’ve made £2.35 is 3 years. LOL!

Leave a Reply

