Top Ten Tuesday: Unique Reads

toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish (click the image to visit them) who pick a different topic each week. This week the topic is Top Ten UNIQUE books that you’ve read (can be in terms of plot, style or character etc.)

tttPicMonkey Collage1

A Million Little Pieces by James Frey: This was the first book I read that uses a stream-of-consciousness style of narrative. It is a work of fiction but written as a memoir, which is a pretty unique, powerful tool.

Water by Terra Harmony: I really need to read the rest of this series. I didn’t love this book, but I’d never read anything quite like it. It’s an eco-fantasy novel in which a girl gets kidnapped by what I could only see as a cult. It was strange, and horrible in places, but I sort of enjoyed it.

The Corporeal Pull by Sara B. Gauldin: This is another book that I liked but didn’t love, but I also found really unique. It’s a love story that transcends time and space. I thought worked on some levels but not on others. However, it’s one I’ll remember for a long time, which can only be a good thing.

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness: Dystopian YA books are everywhere these days, but this was truly ahead of the game. In Ness’ world, everyone can hear each others thoughts and yet somehow, nothing is as it seems. It is written from the 1st person perspective of protagonist Todd, bad spelling and rambling thoughts n all.

Sunshine by Robin McKinley: I found this book unique because it puts a young woman protagonist together with a vampire, yet it’s not concerned with romance, nor are the vampires seen as attractive. Refreshing these days.

tttPicMonkey Collage2

Cereus Blooms at Night by Shani Mootoo: This book is amongst the most visceral of books I’ve read. It’s a beautifully written, often disturbing novel exploring gender roles, oppression and colonialism on a small Cabribean island. Elements of the plot were unique, as was the writing which used vivid descriptions of smells to entice or repulse the reader.

Paprika by Yasutaka Tsutsui: Granted I haven’t read much Japanese fiction, but for me this book was unique for the simple reason of how insane it was. Futuristic, innovative, and down-right creepy, this book is about a dreams taking over reality when a psychotherapy device is stolen. Weird.

The Book With No Name by Anonymous: It’s by anonymous for starters. And has no name. And, the only way I can describe it is if Quentin Tarrantino and Robert Rodriguez got tanked up and decided to write a b-movie in novel form. It’s completely Batshit!

The Neverending Story by Michael Ende: A story within a story… and I loved how the text was printed in red and green to differentiate between Fantasia and the real world.

Graceling by Kristin Cashore: There was something pretty unique about the relationship between Katsa and Po in ths book. It was realistic, natural and healthy. Something that’s rarely found in YA series.

Author: lipsyy

Creative Writing graduate. A Northerner in London. I probably love books a bit too much. Also enjoy vampires, unicorns, man love, tennis & can't get enough of trashy teen novels. I find myself thinking 'What Would Buffy Do?' way too frequently. HIYA!

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Unique Reads”

  1. Oooh, some great choices. I completely agree with The Knife Of Never Letting Go. I NEED to continue that series. Too many books…

  2. Knife… is definitley going on my list- it took so long to get used to the way it was written but once you got sucked in- BOOM.

  3. I loved Sunshine and Graceling too. And, I have Neverending Story to read for Once Upon a Time which I’m really looking forward to!
    Lynn 😀

    1. ooh yeah that’s a great book for that challenge! It was a lot tougher to get through than I thought it would be, but I still loved it!

  4. Everything I’ve read by McKinley has been pretty interesting. And I quite agree about Katsa and Po. Katsa can take care of herself, which is always refreshing.

  5. Sunshine is one of my very favorite books — and I agree, it’s refreshing to see a vampire story without teen romance involved! Great choices here… I still need to read Graceling!

Leave a comment

Odd Librarian Out

Not your average librarian, not your average blog

Letters to a Young Librarian

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Teen Librarian

libraries, teens, books, reviews news...

Eliterate Librarian

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Spellbound Librarian

A lover of magical books : Book reviews, and general book rambling

The Dwarf Did It...

Book Reviews, Bookish recipes and crafts, subscription box reviews

THE MYSTIQUE BOOKS

Celebrating Books

Confessions of a YA Reader

Book blog. Mostly YA, but a little bit of everything.

Written Word Worlds

Just one more chapter...