Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Adult Books For YA Readers

toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish (click the image to visit them) who pick a different topic each week.

This week the topic is: Top Ten Books I’d Give To Readers Who Have Never Read X (examples: New Adult novels, historical fiction, a certain author, books about a certain topic, etc).

I had a hard time deciding what to choose this week. My initial reaction was to do either YA or Fantasy, but I figured a lot of people might go for them, and I’d have a hard time getting it down to just 10 books.

What I’ve come up with is ten adult books that I would recommend to YA lovers.

I love reading YA, but I do think it’s important to read some adult books once in a while. And no, I don’t mean ‘adult’.

I think all of these books would make for a smooth YA to adult transition!

ttt1coll

Burial Rites (Hannah Kent): This book was a much easier read than I thought it was going to be. It’s written beautifully and is totally gripping.

Procession of the Dead (Darren Shan as D.B Shan): This was the first adult book published by Shan and one of my favourites by him full stop. It has all the elements I love in his younger books: horror; gore; violence but with added psychological creep factor. It’s the first book in The City trilogy.

Mystery Man (Bateman): I never get bored of recommending this series. It’s hilarious and I think YA readers will love the crime caper plots.

Room (Emma Donoghue): This book is narrated by a five year old boy. It has a tough subject matter but I think Donoghue really nailed the tone of it, making it a compelling, if not disturbing, read.

The End of Mr Y (Scarlett Thomas): I love everything about this book. It’s very visual and at times I felt like I was walking through a computer game. I think YA readers will enjoy its quirkiness.

tttcoll2

The Ice Queen (Alice Hoffman): This is my favourite Alice Hoffman book so far. As with most of her books it’s about human nature with an injection of ‘real’ magic.

Slaughterhouse Five (Kurt Vonnegut): I basically think everyone should be forced to read this book. ‘Nuff said.

A Spot of Bother (Mark Haddon): Haddon did a great job of portraying an autistic teen in The Curious Incident…, but I think I prefer this one. It makes you think a lot about growing old, and it’s funny to boot.

The Gargoyle (Andrew Davidson): I’m not really sure why I thought about this book for this list. I really loved parts of it, and not others but it’s beautifully written and just look at the cover!

Doctor Sleep (Stephen King): I thought Doctor Sleep was quite a quick read considering the length of it. And I loved seeing Danny’s story continue. His friendship with young Abra gave it a bit of a YA feel.

I’m looking forward to seeing everyone’s lists this week, but I’m not looking forward to what it will do to my TBR Pile/Wishlist!

Author: lipsyy

Creative Writing graduate. A Northerner in London. I probably love books a bit too much. Also enjoy vampires, unicorns, man love, tennis & can't get enough of trashy teen novels. I find myself thinking 'What Would Buffy Do?' way too frequently. HIYA!

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Adult Books For YA Readers”

  1. Brilliant list! I did mine the other way around, but I think it is important to read adult books too. I often forget about how much I love adult books. Room is a fantastic choice!

  2. Great list! šŸ™‚ I have Burial Rites waiting for me on my bookshelf (because of its setting I’m planning on reading it when the weather gets colder) and I’d really like to read Room, too. šŸ™‚ I’m so glad to see The Gargoyle on your list – it’s one of my all time favourite books!

    1. I honestly don’t know what made me think of The Gargoyle for this list but it just stood out for some reason! It was a great read. I hope you enjoy Burial Rites, it will be a perfect Winter read!

  3. I’ve only read Slaughterhouse Five on your list, but I’m going to check out these other books. Is it strange I find Procession of the Dead the most intriguing?
    My TTT

  4. This is a great list. I really want to read Burial Rites (in fact I think I mentioned that on your review). I still havent read Dr Sleep even though I practically queued up to get a copy as soon as it hit the shelves.
    The Gargoyle is a strange book – it’s been a while since I read it but I did enjoy it. I seem to remember at the start of the book finding the guy quite annoying but then clearly his attitude changes. Very unusual and quite unique..
    Lynn šŸ˜€

Leave a comment

Odd Librarian Out

Not your average librarian, not your average blog

Letters to a Young Librarian

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Teen Librarian

libraries, teens, books, reviews news...

Eliterate Librarian

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Spellbound Librarian

A lover of magical books : Book reviews, and general book rambling

The Dwarf Did It...

Book Reviews, Bookish recipes and crafts, subscription box reviews

THE MYSTIQUE BOOKS

Celebrating Books

Confessions of a YA Reader

Book blog. Mostly YA, but a little bit of everything.

Written Word Worlds

Just one more chapter...