This Week In Books 03.06.15

icon2

Welcome to my weekly post, where I sum-up what I’ve been up to in bookland the past week.

twib18

Now: The Almost King ~ Lucy Saxon // The Testimony of a Hanged Man ~ Ann Granger

After a pretty shaky start, The Almost King has picked up, and I’m enjoying it. I’m stiiiiiiiilllllll going on my lunchtime read too.

Then: The Quality of Silence ~ Rosamund Lupton

I misread the release date for this and thought it was out this week rather than the beginning of July. Fail. But, that just meant I got to LOVE this book even sooner. It was so good! My review will be up on a couple of weeks, nearer to its release.

Next: ???

I’ll be choosing from my holiday reads which I posted about here.

New on the Shelf

(Linking up with Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews) and Friday Finds hosted by A Daily Rhythm.

Purchased: After last week’s binge, I didn’t buy any books this week.

Netgalley: I was really happy to be approved for The Wolf Wilder by Katherine Rundell this week, as it was my ‘Waiting On’ pick last week.

I’m Waiting on…

(Linking up with Breaking the Spine)

The Girl Who Just Appeared ~ Jonathan Harvey

thegirlwhojust

This sounds crazy good!

Holly Smith has never fitted in. Adopted when just a few months old, she’s always felt she was someone with no history. All she has is the address of where she was born – 32B Gambier Terrace, Liverpool. When Holly discovers that the flat is available to rent, she travels north and moves in. And in the very same flat, under the floorboards, she finds a biscuit tin full of yellowing papers. Could these papers be the key to her past?

Liverpool – 1981

Fifteen-year-old Darren is negotiating life with his errant mother and the younger brother he is raising. When the Toxteth Riots explode around him, Darren finds himself with a moral dilemma that will have consequences for the rest of his life.

Moving between the past and the present, Darren and Holly’s lives become intertwined. Will finding Darren give Holly the answers she craves? Or will she always feel like the girl who just appeared?

Expected publication: July 17th 2014 by Pan

So, that’s my week in books, now how about yours?

If you still do a similar WWW post (or just want to join in, leave your link/answers in the comments, OR why not tweet using #ThisWeekInBooks, and I’ll come and visit!

Author: lipsyy

Creative Writing graduate. A Northerner in London. I probably love books a bit too much. Also enjoy vampires, unicorns, man love, tennis & can't get enough of trashy teen novels. I find myself thinking 'What Would Buffy Do?' way too frequently. HIYA!

11 thoughts on “This Week In Books 03.06.15”

  1. I hope you enjoy your summer reads! My intentions to read holiday appropriate books always seem to fail. Happy reading!

  2. I’m excited for your review of The Quality of Silence. I’m glad to know you liked it!!

Leave a comment

Odd Librarian Out

Not your average librarian, not your average blog

Letters to a Young Librarian

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Teen Librarian

libraries, teens, books, reviews news...

Eliterate Librarian

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Spellbound Librarian

A lover of magical books : Book reviews, and general book rambling

The Dwarf Did It...

Book Reviews, Bookish recipes and crafts, subscription box reviews

THE MYSTIQUE BOOKS

Celebrating Books

Confessions of a YA Reader

Book blog. Mostly YA, but a little bit of everything.

Written Word Worlds

Just one more chapter...