Top Ten Tuesday: Anticipated reads/TBR this summer #TTT #SummerReads

icon4-ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish (click the link to visit them) who pick a different topic each week.

This week the topic is…Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For The Second Half Of The Year…

I’m tweaking this week’s topic because I haven’t done a summer reading list yet and I want to (not that I ever stick to them but y’know). I’m hoping my summer reading will be a mixture of new releases (anticipated reads) and some from my physical TBR self, so here I’ve chosen 5 of each!

Anticipated Releases:

And I Darken ~ Kiersten White: No one expects a princess to be brutal. And Lada Dragwyla likes it that way.” The first of an epic new trilogy starring the ultimate anti-princess who does not have a gentle heart. Lada knows how to wield a sword, and she’ll stop at nothing to keep herself and her brother alive. July 7th

When Everything Feels Like the Movies ~ Raziel Reid: “Everyone wanted to break me. But stars aren’t broken, they explode. And I was the ultimate supernova…My name was Jude. They called me Judy. I was beautiful either way. This is my story.” August 4th

Labyrinth Lost ~  Zoraida Córdova: “Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.” Beautiful Creatures meets Daughter of Smoke and Bone with an infusion of Latin American tradition in this highly original fantasy adventure. Sept 6th

Phantom Limbs ~ Paula Garner: How do you move on from an irreplaceable loss? In a poignant debut, a sixteen-year-old boy must learn to swim against an undercurrent of grief—or be swept away by it? Sept 13th

The Sunlight Pilgrims ~ Jenni Fagan: “It’s November of 2020, and the world is freezing over. Each day colder than the last. There’s snow in Israel, the Thames is overflowing, and an iceberg separated from the Fjords in Norway is expected to drift just off the coast of Scotland…” The Sunlight Pilgrims is a visionary story of courage and resilience in the midst of nature’s most violent hour. July 19th

From the dreaded TBR pile

The Forgotten Garden ~ Kate Morton: A foundling, an old book of dark fairy tales, a secret garden, an aristocratic family, a love denied, and a mystery. The Forgotten Garden is a captivating, atmospheric and compulsively readable story of the past, secrets, family and memory from the international best-selling author Kate Morton.

Shadow and Bone ~ Leigh Bardugo: “The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.” Glorious. Epic. Irresistible. Romance. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Laini Taylor.

The Seeing Stone ~ Kevin Crossley-Holland: The year is 1199, the place the Welsh Marches. Young Arthur de Caldicot practises his tilting and archery, learns to be a dutiful page to his father, and waits impatiently to grow up and become a knight. One day his father’s friend Merlin gives him a shining black stone. When Arthur starts to see stories in the stone, his life quickly becomes entwined with that of his namesake, the boy who pulls the sword from the stone”

Monkeys with Typewriters ~ Scarlett Thomas: Exploring how fiction works, this manual shows you how you can learn to understand it well enough to crack open any fictional narrative, and, if you like, start creating your own.

Reckless ~ Devon Hartford: “Now that Samantha Smith has confronted the demons from her dark past in Fearless, she’s excited to jump into adulthood with newfound confidence and friends Romeo, Madison, and Kamiko…Samantha will be tested to the limits of her resilience, and must discover how truly Fearless she can be in the name of love.”

(Edited synopses taken from Goodreads)

Will you be reading any of these over summer?

Advertisements

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Anticipated reads/TBR this summer #TTT #SummerReads

  1. The Forgotten Garden is on ye old TBR. I want to get to it this summer. But I’m not sure how or when I will since I’m working on so many structured book challenges.

  2. And I Darken is probably my favorite Kiersten White book (I’ve probably mentioned that here before). Lada is my favorite anti-princess ever. Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier.

  3. Great TTT! I have to read The Forgotten Garden too… .-.
    I may have to magpie your idea of doing my anticipated reads as opposed to releases! I was wondering how I was going to do this week’s TTT when in fact I don’t have enough money to buy new books!

  4. Ack, the dreaded TBR pile! Mine is haunting my dreams (nightmares?) at this point. I need to read some Kate Morton too — I have this one plus a few others on my shelves, and I should really make a point of reading them!

  5. The Forgotten Garden was a fun read, I hope you enjoy it! I love the cover of And I Darken. I have a review copy of Sunlight Pilgrims and I can’t wait to read it.

  6. Pingback: This Week in Books #TWIB #CurrentlyReading | Lipsyy Lost & Found

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Autumn TBR #TTT | Lipsyy Lost & Found

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s