Favourites Friday #8: Under The Dome and those pesky trust issues!

I’ve read some pretty bad reviews of the TV adaptation of Stephen King’s Under the Dome but I’m really intrigued to see it. I used to be a fan of his when I was a teenager but I feel like I kind of grew out of it or something (which is hilarious when you consider which books I love to read now *cough* Twilight *cough* The Selection). So I was surprised by how much I loved Under the Dome. Here’s a review I wrote some time ago for some website or other.

6320534

As far as Stephen King fans go, I’d say I’m barely on even the spectrum. I’ve never really trusted him as an author since that part of It when it just goes batshit, (you know the one…right?) or the end of Cell which was such a let-down I wanted to throw the book out of a window and demand the twelve hours of my life back that it took me to read it. He seems to have a problem with endings, that or I just have a problem with his endings.

So when it came to UTD – a mammoth tome even by King’s standard – coming in at over 1000 pages, I was understandably hesitant. I’d given him a wide berth since Cell but one trusted friend plus one enthusiastic book seller convinced me to give it a go, and once I’d got past the quite frankly daunting list of characters that would give George RR Martin a run for his money, the opening chapter had me hooked with a capital H.

UTD is the story of Chester’s Mill, Maine; a small, relatively normal town which is suddenly enveloped by an invisible and seemingly indestructible dome. The dome not only cuts the inhabitants off from the rest of the world but also hacks off a few body parts and slices a woodchuck in two in a suitably bloody fashion as it slams down. As you’d expect, panic ensues and the pages actually fly by.

At its core, UTD is a story about a community and its power struggles, and I almost hate to say it – politics. Like all good microcosms of society there are good guys and bad guys and their varied reactions to the bizarre situation leads to incidents of rape, arson, murder, even a bit of Necrophilia, and thanks to King’s stunning characterisation it’s all entirely believable, enthralling, and disturbing.

I might have to rethink my trust issues; I even enjoyed the ending. A lot.

I’ve only read this once, because y’know- long! but I’ve been longing to read it again ever since I finished it which is a sign of a true favourite.

Author: lipsyy

Creative Writing graduate. A Northerner in London. I probably love books a bit too much. Also enjoy vampires, unicorns, man love, tennis & can't get enough of trashy teen novels. I find myself thinking 'What Would Buffy Do?' way too frequently. HIYA!

4 thoughts on “Favourites Friday #8: Under The Dome and those pesky trust issues!”

  1. Thanks for the tip. I haven’t read many Stephen King books but have enjoyed the ones I have. I do have commitment issues with big books at the moment though, so may have to build up to it.

    1. Yeah I’m the same. Big books are great when you love every page, but those that drag are so painful. I find it hard to get the motivation if I don’t know which way it’s gonna go. This is definitely worth the time though, I think.

Leave a comment

Odd Librarian Out

Not your average librarian, not your average blog

Letters to a Young Librarian

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Teen Librarian

libraries, teens, books, reviews news...

Eliterate Librarian

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Spellbound Librarian

A lover of magical books : Book reviews, and general book rambling

The Dwarf Did It...

Book Reviews, Bookish recipes and crafts, subscription box reviews

THE MYSTIQUE BOOKS

Celebrating Books

Confessions of a YA Reader

Book blog. Mostly YA, but a little bit of everything.

Written Word Worlds

Just one more chapter...