Horror October: Must-See TV!

The main thing I have loved about Horror October is the opportunity to branch out a little. I am, and will remain a BOOK blogger, but like most of you reading this I’m sure, I have other interests too. TV and Film are also great source of enjoyment in my life.

Autumn is always such a great season for new TV shows and this year has been no exception. So I wanted to share with you some my favourite new horrorish shows, and those I am really excited about *squeal*!

1. DRACULA!
Dracula
OMG I can’t even tell you how excited I am about this. I have loved Jonathan Rhys Meyers since I saw him in Gormenghast, and then Velvet Goldmine where he played a character based on David Bowie. He was so perfect in both of those so him being cast as Dracula is just a bit amazing. Also Katie McGrath from Merlin plays Lucy Westenra…BONUS!

Synopsis from IMDB: Series introduces Dracula as he arrives in London, posing as an American entrepreneur who maintains that he wants to bring modern science to Victorian society. In reality, he hopes to wreak revenge on the people who ruined his life centuries earlier. There’s only one circumstance that can potentially thwart his plan: Dracula falls hopelessly in love with a woman who seems to be a reincarnation of his dead wife. Written by NBC

Dracula starts on NBC on Oct 25th in the states and shortly after on Sky Living in the UK.

2. American Horror Story: The Coven

tumblr_mpzmj30ZfF1s0chhxo1_1280

My excitement for this is on par with Dracula although I didn’t enjoy the last series anywhere near as much as I thought I would! I just felt it fizzled out a bit and I lost interest. This, however, looks crazy good!

AHS: Coven started on Oct 9th US, and will begin on FX in the UK on the 29th…just in time for Halloween!

3. The Tunnel

Synopsis from Sky.com:
The Tunnel is a gripping new thriller from the makers of Broadchurch, set against the backdrop of Europe in crisis.

When a prominent French politician is found dead on the border between the UK and France, detectives Karl Roebuck (Games of Thrones’ Stephen Dillane) and Elise Wassermann (Harry Potter’s Clémence Poésy) are sent to investigate on behalf of their respective countries. The case takes a surreal turn when a shocking discovery is made at the crime scene, forcing the French and British police into an uneasy partnership.

As the serial killer uses ever more elaborate and ingenious methods to highlight the moral bankruptcy of modern society, Karl and Elise are drawn deeper into his increasingly personal agenda.

Inspired by Scandinavian drama The Bridge, it’s an original production for Sky Atlantic HD and the result of an entente cordiale with France’s CANAL+

The Tunnel started on Sky Atlantic on Oct 16th

4. The Originals

the-originals-poster

I used to LOVE The Vampire Diaries although I never read the books. The thing is, the last few series of TVD have been rubbish. Sad Face. So, I don’t really know how to feel about this spin-off but I am looking forward to finding out!

Synopsis from IMDB: A spin-off from The Vampire Diaries and set in New Orleans, The Originals centers on the Mikaelson siblings, otherwise known as the world’s original vampires: Klaus (Joseph Morgan), Elijah (Daniel Gillies), and Rebekah (Claire Holt). Now Klaus must take down his protégé, Marcel (Charles Michael Davis), who is now in charge of New Orleans, in order to re-take his city, as he originally built New Orleans. Klaus departed from the city after being chased down by his father Mikael, while it was being constructed and Marcel took charge. As Klaus has returned after many years, his ego has provoked him to become the king of the city. “Every King needs an heir” says Klaus, accepting the unborn child. The child is a first to be born to a hybrid (part vampire, part werewolf) and a werewolf (Hayley). Written by Anaya Miller

The Originals started on Oct 3rd in the US and begins in the UK 22nd Oct on SYFY

5. Bates Motel

This has been a surprise for me. I wasn’t sure it would work, but I’ve loved it so far. Vera Farmiga is amazing as Norma Bates and I can’t wait to see where it goes.

MV5BMzk4OTU5NTE2M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTIxMDIyOQ@@._V1._SX640_SY852_
Synopsis from IMBD: A modern re-imagining and prequel to the movie Psycho. This story begins with the earlier years of a teenage Norman Bates and his mother Norma who live in an old house overlooking the adjoining motel which they are renovating. The house and hotel both come with secrets of their own as does the new town which the Bates’ now call home. Written by Alton Tyre

Bates Motel is currently on Universal in the UK, Thursday Nights. Sleepy Hollow is also worth a mention, so far I’ve seen 2 episodes and it’s been good, I hope they crank it up a notch though!

Author: lipsyy

Creative Writing graduate. A Northerner in London. I probably love books a bit too much. Also enjoy vampires, unicorns, man love, tennis & can't get enough of trashy teen novels. I find myself thinking 'What Would Buffy Do?' way too frequently. HIYA!

12 thoughts on “Horror October: Must-See TV!”

  1. I can’t wait for Dracula! I hope it’s good and not cheesy… we’ll see! I’m liking The Originals so far (but then again, I’ve stuck with TVD and still love it, so who knows?)

  2. Someone else told me I should check out the Coven season of American Horror Story. I wasn’t sold on past seasons from what I heard about it, but maybe this one . . .

    1. I LOVED the first series so much, it was so creepy. And I loved the idea of the Asylum series but it just didn’t have the same impact. Reeeeeally hope one is at good as it looks!

  3. Holy dooly. This post of yours has made me SO EXCITED for SO MANY things that are being released! 😀 😀
    I especially love the look of Dracula, because I also love JRM.
    And American Horror Story: Coven looks amazing. I couldn’t get into the second series for some reason, so hopefully this one will be better. It certainly looks better – super eerie!
    I desperately want to see The Originals. I haven’t seen the latest season of TVD though, but I have been hearing bad things 😦 Hopefully TO will be more like the first few seasons.
    And the books of TVD are not really like the show at all. I read the books years ago, and they are some of my all time favourites, and I had such a hard time adjusting to all the changes in the show But I learned to view them as different things. Which is good, because I do love that show, haha. 😀

    1. Yay! I’m glad I’m not the only one who is excited. SERIOUSLY SO EXCITED where Dracula and AHS are concerned.

      I really need to read TVD, I might have read one or two when I was at school but I can’t remember them. And yeah, the last series was pretty rubbish, but you never know, The Originals could be amazing, like you said, if it’s more like the first couple of series then it’ll be amazing. EEEK!

      1. I know, right! They look so amazing.

        Just try not to compare them with the show, because they are REALLY different. Except Damon. he’s the same ❤
        Aw, no. 😦 And just when things could have been so awesome with Elena being a vampire and everything. Hopefully! I loved the story of Klaus and all his brothers and sisters, so a whole show dedicated to them should be epic!

      2. Elena was the WORST vampire ever…she got so whiny I kind of just wanted her to die! And yay for Damon being the same in the books…I don’t think I want him any other way!

Leave a comment

Odd Librarian Out

Not your average librarian, not your average blog

Letters to a Young Librarian

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Teen Librarian

libraries, teens, books, reviews news...

Eliterate Librarian

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Spellbound Librarian

A lover of magical books : Book reviews, and general book rambling

The Dwarf Did It...

Book Reviews, Bookish recipes and crafts, subscription box reviews

THE MYSTIQUE BOOKS

Celebrating Books

Confessions of a YA Reader

Book blog. Mostly YA, but a little bit of everything.

Written Word Worlds

Just one more chapter...